What is the grading system for cataracts?

Gradings of cataract progression were divided into early (Grade I), moderate (II) and advanced (III) stages. The grading of cortical opacity was judged by the opaque area in a maximally dilated pupillary zone of which findings were obtained from a red-reflex image.

How are cataracts graded?

Nuclear cataracts are graded according to their color and opacification using slit lamp examination. Cortical and posterior subcapsular cataracts are graded instead using retroillumination to evaluate the degree to which the intrapupillary space or posterior capsule are obscured.

How many grades of cataracts are there?

A cataract is a clouding of the lens of the eye that impairs vision. There are three main types of cataract: Nuclear Sclerotic, Cortical and Posterior Subcapsular.

What is a 3+ cataract?

Correct! A 3+ cataract. This cataract is so dense that the cortex has liquefied, allowing the nucleus to sink to the bottom of the lens capsule. This special type of very dense cataract is known as a Morgagnian cataract.

What is the cataract scale?

Cataracts can be classified by using the lens opacities classification system LOCS III. In this system, cataracts are classified based on type as nuclear, cortical, or posterior. The cataracts are further classified based on severity on a scale from 1 to 5. The LOCS III system is highly reproducible.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Can cataract surgery make you tired?

How is cataract measured?

Cataract surgery is often performed as an outpatient procedure and does not require an overnight hospital stay. Before surgery, the length of your eye will be measured in what is called an A-scan, and the curve of your cornea will be measured in a technique called keratometry.

What is stage1 cataract?

Early cataract: The very beginnings of cataract disease. The lens is still clear, but the ability to change focus between near and far vision has begun to be compromised. You may see the beginnings of blurring or cloudiness, glare from lights may begin to bother you and you may feel increasing eye strain.

What is a 2+ cataract?

These cataracts can be graded on a scale of trace to 4+, with trace being barely any visible opacification. Grade 1+ is when <5% of the posterior capsule is obscured, and Grade 2+ is when approximately 30% of the capsule is obscured.

What are the 3 types of cataracts?

There are three primary types of cataracts: nuclear sclerotic, cortical and posterior subcapsular.

  • Nuclear Sclerotic Cataracts. …
  • Cortical Cataracts. …
  • Posterior Subcapsular Cataracts.

What are the 5 types of cataract?

There are 5 main types of cataracts.

  • Age-related cataract. As you age, a cataract can develop because of natural changes in the lens of your eye. …
  • Traumatic cataract. Serious eye injuries can damage your lens and cause a cataract. …
  • Radiation cataract. Certain types of radiation can cause cataracts. …
  • Pediatric cataract.

What are the four types of cataracts?

Cataract types include:

  • Cataracts affecting the center of the lens (nuclear cataracts). …
  • Cataracts that affect the edges of the lens (cortical cataracts). …
  • Cataracts that affect the back of the lens (posterior subcapsular cataracts). …
  • Cataracts you’re born with (congenital cataracts).
IT IS SURPRISING:  Your question: What weather causes dry eyes?

What is a blue dot cataract?

Cerulean cataracts, also known as blue dot cataracts, are developmental cataracts characterized by blue and white opacifications scattered in the nucleus and cortex of the lens. Patients with cerulean cataracts are usually asymptomatic until 18-24 months of age and often do not need them removed before adulthood.

WHO published a simplified cataract grading scale?

In 2002, the World Health Organization (WHO) published a simplified cataract grading scale [2] .

What is SRK formula?

The SRK formula uses the following equation to calculate IOL power: P = A – BL – CK, where P is the implant power for emmetropia; L is the axial length (mm); K is the average keratometry (D); and A, B, and C are constants. … With this information, the formula can be written as follows: P = A – 2.5L – 0.9K.

What is cataract Slideshare?

DEFINITION • A cataract is a clouding of the normally clear lens of your eye • A cataract is a dense, cloudy area that forms in the lens of the eye. A cataract begins when proteins in the eye form clumps that prevent the lens from sending clear images to the retina.